- Most Popular Beers
- Gluten-Free vs. Gluten-Removed
- Regular vs. Gluten-Free Beer
- What Is Gluten?
- Symptoms of Celiac Disease
- Home Brewing Gluten-Free Beer
Beer is one of the oldest beverages in the world, dating back over 8,000 years. It is traditionally made with water, hops, yeast, and wheat or barley (both grains contain gluten).
- Most traditional beers have a gluten content of above 20 parts per million (ppm) and are regulated by the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau.
- Gluten-free varieties must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten and are regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
Be it traditional or gluten-free beer, the American Dietary Guidelines recommend limiting alcohol to two drinks a day for men and one drink a day for women.
Most popular gluten-free beers in the USA
|Beer name||Company name||Availability|
|Buck wild pale ale||Alpenglow beer||California, USA|
|Copperhead copper ale||Alt brew||Wisconsin, USA|
|Redbridge lager||Anheuser-Busch||Missouri, USA|
|Felix pilsner||Bierly brewing||Oregon, USA|
|Pyro American pale ale||Burning brothers brewing||Minnesota, USA|
|Third contact India Pale Ale (IPA)||Divine science brewing||California, USA|
|Glutenator IPA||Epic brewing||Utah, USA|
|Celia Saison||Ipswich ale brewery||Massachusetts, USA|
What is gluten-free beer vs gluten-removed beer?
Gluten-free beers are made with gluten-free grains, such as:
- Gluten-free oats
Other beverages that are available gluten-free include hard ciders and alcoholic beverages made from fermented fruit juices.
Gluten-removed or gluten-reduced beer
Gluten-removed or gluten-reduced beers are those that are made from gluten-containing grains, such as barley, wheat, or rye. However, they are processed using enzymes that digest gluten particles into smaller fragments, which may lower the risk of causing an immune response in people with a gluten allergy or intolerance.
Though gluten-removed beers undergo a process intended to reduce their gluten content, it has not been scientifically validated. The gluten content may vary between batches, which could cause an immune response in some people with celiac disease. So, it is not recommended for people on a gluten-free diet or who are severely gluten intolerant.
What are the differences between regular beer and gluten-free beer?
|Differentiating factors||Gluten-free beer||Regular beer|
|Taste||Sweeter or less carbonated||Traditional|
|Smell||The smell differs based on the grain it is made from||All brands smell almost the same|
|Regulation||The U.S. Food and Drug Administration||The U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau|
|Permissible gluten content||Less than 20 parts per million (ppm)||Above 20 parts per million (ppm)|
What is gluten?
Gluten is a type of protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye and many processed foods, such as bread, pasta, noodle, and cereal.
Hordein in barley and gliadin in wheat are the types of gluten that can trigger symptoms in people with celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis.
What are the symptoms of celiac disease?
Gluten is linked to celiac disease, an autoimmune condition that triggers inflammation in the small intestine when gluten is consumed in any form. This eventually leads to decreased nutrient absorption and severe damage to the internal lining of the small intestine.
People with celiac disease may notice the following symptoms on consuming gluten:
- Joint pain
- Iron-deficiency anemia
- Stomach pain
- Weight loss
- Itchy skin rash (dermatitis herpetiformis)
How to make gluten-free beer at home
Several gluten-free beer home-brew kits are available in specialty stores or online.
They usually include a sweet sorghum syrup as the main carbohydrate source, yeast, hops, and other flavoring ingredients.
Steps to make a simple sorghum beer at home
- Bring water to a boil
- Add the sorghum syrup and hops
- Boil for an hour
- Turn off the heat and stir in honey
- Let it cool
- Transfer it to a clean and sanitized fermenter
- Add enough water to make the desired amount of liquid (about 5 gallons or 19 L)
- Discard the yeast
- Ferment the beer and place it in sanitized bottles with corn sugar
- Blind People Are Better at Sensing Their Heartbeats
- AHA News: Missouri Man Turns Heart Disease Diagnosis Into Public Service Message
- Scientists Get Closer to Understanding 'Hidden' HIV
- New Drug Combo Buys More Time for Advanced Endometrial Cancer Patients
- Too Much Time Online Might Raise Kids' Odds for Mental Health Woes: Study
- More Health News »
Health Solutions From Our Sponsors
What to Know About Gluten-Free Beer. https://www.webmd.com/diet/what-to-know-about-gluten-free-beer
Is Beer Gluten-Free? https://www.beyondceliac.org/gluten-free-diet/is-it-gluten-free/beer/
Top What’s the Best Gluten-Free Beer Related Articles
Can Root Beer Make You Drunk?Root beer is a typically (although not exclusively) nonalcoholic, caffeine-free, sweet, and carbonated drink.
Can You Eat Whole Grain If You Are Gluten Intolerant?Eating unprocessed whole grains has been demonstrated to offer significant health benefits. Since only a few whole grains contain gluten, you do not have to forego eating all of them if you have a gluten intolerance.
Celiac disease is a condition in which a person has inflammation of the small intestinal mucosa when exposed to gluten in the diet. Symptoms of celiac disease include bloating, nausea, diarrhea, and abdominal discomfort. Treatment is a gluten free diet. Some individuals may have refractory celiac disease in which they do not respond to a gluten free diet.
Celiac Disease QuizCould celiac disease be the cause of your tummy troubles? Take the Celiac Disease Quiz to learn what certain foods may be doing to your insides. Learn symptoms to look for as well as how to treat this digestive disorder.
Celiac Disease SlideshowDo you suffer from celiac disease? Learn about diet, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments for this digestive disorder that occurs in reaction to gluten and damages the intestines.
What Are the Symptoms of Celiac Disease in Adults?What is celiac disease? Learn the signs of celiac disease, how doctors diagnose celiac disease, and what you can do to manage your celiac disease symptoms.
What Is the Best Nonalcoholic Beer?Nonalcoholic beer contains very little to no alcohol. In fact, most nonalcoholic beer claims to have 0.5% alcohol by volume (ABV). Some even claim to have 0.0% ABV. Remember that nonalcoholic beer has more alcohol than mentioned in their label.
What Kind of Pain Does Celiac Disease Cause?Celiac disease is a type of autoimmune disease that affects the digestive system. Celiac disease is associated with abdominal pain and bloating.