What Is Stage IV COPD?

Last Editorial Review: 6/23/2017

Ask the experts

My husband has been diagnosed with Stage IV COPD, what does Stage IV indicate?

Doctor's response

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), a progressive condition that obstructs air flow through the airways in and out of the lungs, has been categorized by the GOLD (Global Obstructive Lung Disease initiative) into four groups, or stages, according to the severity of the condition Stage 0, Stage I, Stage II, and Stage III.

These categories are based on an individual's lung function. In this system Stage III corresponds to severe COPD, the most advanced disease. This group includes individuals with severe airflow limitation. Another proposed staging system for COPD includes a Stage IV, which represents very severe COPD. People in this group often have evidence of respiratory failure (either low blood oxygen or high carbon dioxide levels) or clinical signs of right heart failure (such as leg swelling), that characteristically accompany respiratory failure. At this stage, quality of life is appreciably impaired. Exacerbations of the condition may occur three to four times per year and may be life-threatening.

Health Solutions From Our Sponsors

Medically reviewed by John A. Daller, MD; American Board of Surgery with subspecialty certification in surgical critical care REFERENCE:

"Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease: Prognostic factors and comorbid conditions"