Vegetarian and Vegan Diet Center

There are many types of vegetarians: vegans, lacto-vegetarians, lacto-ovo vegetarians, and flexitarians. Vegans eat only plant-based foods. Lacto-vegetarians eat plant-based foods and milk products. Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat plant-based foods, milk products, and eggs. Flexitarians eat plant-based foods and occasionally eat meat, poultry, or fish. Read more: Vegetarian and Vegan Diet Article

QUESTION

According to the USDA, there is no difference between a “portion” and a “serving.” See Answer

Treatment & Diagnosis

Medications & Supplements

Prevention & Wellness

Medically Reviewed by a Doctor on 4/8/2015

Subscribe to MedicineNet's Weight Loss/Healthy Living Newsletter

By clicking "Submit," I agree to the MedicineNet Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. I also agree to receive emails from MedicineNet and I understand that I may opt out of MedicineNet subscriptions at any time.