Wine is naturally gluten-free, as it is made from grapes and other gluten-free ingredients.
However, it is important to understand how wine is made and what to look for to make sure it has not been contaminated by gluten in the process.
Is there a risk of gluten contamination during processing?
Most wines have less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, making them gluten-free according to U.S. guidelines.
However, additional gluten could be introduced during wine processing and packaging. This occurs if gluten-containing products are used as fining agents to clarify the wine, or if a wheat paste is used to seal oak barrels for aging.
Some wine processing procedures may accidentally add trace amounts of gluten to the final product, which is generally less than 10-20 ppm. Although this is still considered gluten-free, some people with celiac disease may still be sensitive to this amount of gluten.
If you are especially sensitive to gluten, you may need to avoid wine stored in oak barrels. Additionally, it is recommended to look for added colorings or flavorings because some of these ingredients may include gluten.
Tips for selecting gluten-free wine include the following:
- Look for the gluten-free certification logo or label.
- Avoid any potential hidden ingredients
- Discuss the possibility of gluten contamination with the winemaker.
Which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free?
Gluten is not present in most alcoholic beverages, including wine, most spirits, and gluten-free beer. Most alcoholic beverages are regulated by the FDA or the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. However, their policies are not clear about which ones are completely gluten-free
Spirits are distilled during the manufacturing process, which removes any traces of gluten even when a gluten-containing ingredient is used. Therefore, anyone with celiac disease can drink spirits, including malt whisky, which is made from barley.
Possible gluten-free alcoholic beverages include:
Beverages to avoid if you have gluten intolerance or celiac disease include:
Regardless of whether you are on a gluten-free diet or not, keep in mind that it is recommended to limit alcohol consumption to less than 14 units a week.
Who should follow a gluten-free diet?
Although going gluten-free has become more popular, experts recommend only following a gluten-free diet if you have been diagnosed with:
- Celiac disease
- Gluten sensitivity
- Dermatitis herpetiformis
- Wheat allergy
If you do not have a condition that affects your digestion of gluten, cutting out grains and other complex carbohydrates can lead to nutrient deficiencies and damage gut health.
If you have symptoms of celiac disease or gluten intolerance, seek medical treatment for accurate diagnosis and treatment. They can confirm a diagnosis using a blood test, colonoscopy, and other tests. If you are diagnosed with celiac disease, you will need to follow a strict gluten-free diet to reduce symptoms.
Health Solutions From Our Sponsors
Beyond Celiac. Is Wine Gluten-Free? https://www.beyondceliac.org/gluten-free-diet/is-it-gluten-free/wine/
Gluten Intolerance Group. Is Wine Gluten-Free…Or Not? https://gluten.org/2021/02/08/is-wine-gluten-free/
National Celiac Association. Frequently Asked Questions about Alcohol on the Gluten-Free Diet. https://nationalceliac.org/frequently-asked-questions-about-alcohol-on-the-gluten-free-diet/
Rajagopal S. Gluten-Free Diet: Is It Right for Me? Johns Hopkins Medicine. https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/celiac-disease/what-is-a-glutenfree-diet
Top Is Wine Gluten-Free Related Articles
Can You Eat Whole Grain If You Are Gluten Intolerant?Eating unprocessed whole grains has been demonstrated to offer significant health benefits. Since only a few whole grains contain gluten, you do not have to forego eating all of them if you have a gluten intolerance.
Celiac disease is a condition in which a person has inflammation of the small intestinal mucosa when exposed to gluten in the diet. Symptoms of celiac disease include bloating, nausea, diarrhea, and abdominal discomfort. Treatment is a gluten free diet. Some individuals may have refractory celiac disease in which they do not respond to a gluten free diet.
Celiac Disease SlideshowDo you suffer from celiac disease? Learn about diet, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments for this digestive disorder that occurs in reaction to gluten and damages the intestines.
Gluten-Free DietStarting a gluten free diet? Get the facts about gluten free foods -- with tips on what to avoid, what to enjoy, and delicious, gluten-free alternatives to keep you healthy and happy.
Alcohol: How It Can Affect Your BodyAlcohol affects the body and brain by interfering with cognitive function, mood, balance, sleep, digestion, and the function of the liver, kidneys, heart, and pancreas. Alcohol affects hormones, hearing, immune function, body temperature, and bone and muscle strength.
Food and Recipes: What Do You Know About Wine?Red wine can be a healthy and enjoyable part of life if you don't drink too much. Click through this slideshow to find out more about the ancient drink wine.