Medical Illustrations

Picture of Eye

Illustration of the eye

The eye is our organ of sight. The eye has a number of components which include but are not limited to the cornea, iris, pupil, lens, retina, macula, optic nerve, choroid and vitreous.

  • Cornea: clear front window of the eye that transmits and focuses light into the eye.
  • Iris: colored part of the eye that helps regulate the amount of light that enters
  • Pupil: dark aperture in the iris that determines how much light is let into the eye
  • Lens: transparent structure inside the eye that focuses light rays onto the retina
  • Retina: nerve layer that lines the back of the eye, senses light, and creates electrical impulses that travel through the optic nerve to the brain
  • Macula: small central area in the retina that contains special light-sensitive cells and allows us to see fine details clearly
  • Optic nerve: connects the eye to the brain and carries the electrical impulses formed by the retina to the visual cortex of the brain
  • Vitreous: clear, jelly-like substance that fills the middle of the eye
Image Source: MedicineNet, Inc.

Text: MedicineNet, Inc.