Does Oat Bran Have Gluten?

  • Medical Author:
    Dennis Lee, MD

    Dr. Lee was born in Shanghai, China, and received his college and medical training in the United States. He is fluent in English and three Chinese dialects. He graduated with chemistry departmental honors from Harvey Mudd College. He was appointed president of AOA society at UCLA School of Medicine. He underwent internal medicine residency and gastroenterology fellowship training at Cedars Sinai Medical Center.

Ask the experts

Do you know if oat bran contains gluten? And is it OK to eat if I have celiac sprue?

Doctor's response

Gluten is the protein fraction of wheat, rye, and barley. Gluten contains several different types of protein, each with a different arrangement of amino acids. (Proteins are chains of amino acids hooked together.) It is believed that several of these proteins are responsible for the inflammation that causes celiac disease (also known as sprue or gluten-sensitive enteropathy). The proteins of rice and corn are different from the proteins in gluten and are made up of differently-arranged amino acids. They do not cause inflammation in patients with celiac disease. The arrangement of the amino acids in the proteins from oats is intermediate between those of gluten and the proteins of rice and corn. The most recent studies suggest that oats do not promote inflammation in patients with celiac disease or that only large quantities of oats can do so. One concern with oat flour (and possibly oat bran) is that there may be contamination with wheat, rye, or barley during the process of milling.

Medically reviewed by Robert Bargar, MD; Board Certification in Public Health & General Preventive Medicine

REFERENCE:

"Management of celiac disease in adults"
UpToDate.com

Health Solutions From Our Sponsors

Reviewed on 7/17/2017