In this Article
heartburn, and belching. Gelatin can cause allergic reactions in some people.
There is some concern about the safety of gelatin because it comes from animal sources. Some people are worried that unsafe manufacturing practices might lead to contamination of gelatin products with diseased animal tissues including those that might transmit bovine spongiform encephalopathy (mad cow disease). Although this risk seems to be low, many experts advise against using animal-derived supplements like gelatin.
Do not take gelatin in amounts higher than those typically found in foods if:
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.