An allergic reaction to wheat is actually an intolerance to gluten, which is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and oats. Gluten intolerance is associated with "gluten-sensitive enteropathy" or "celiac disease." With celiac disease, the immune system responds abnormally to gluten and the immune response caused by celiac disease is different than the response caused by other food allergies. Symptoms of celiac disease include gas, bloating, diarrhea, weight loss, fatigue, and sometimes vomiting.
People with celiac disease must read labels carefully and learn which products tend to contain gluten. Even gluten-free bread may contain small amounts of wheat. Wheat can also be found in and ale, beer, bourbon, whiskey, and even wine. Many medications in tablet form have a wheat binder not listed on the label. If you have a wheat allergy, ask your doctor or pharmacist for a liquid form or a tablet that uses potato or corn starch.