Celiac Disease: Gluten Free Diet (cont.)

Author:
Medical Editor:

Foods that are unsafe to eat

  • Barley
  • Bleached flour
  • Bran Brewer's yeast
  • Bromated flour
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Durum flour
  • Enriched flour
  • FarinaFarro
  • Germ
  • Graham
  • Flour
  • Hydrolyzed protein
  • Malt or malt flavoring (can be made from barley)
  • Malt vinegar (made from barley)
  • Matzo meal/flour
  • OrzoPanko
  • Phosphated flour
  • Plain flour
  • RyeSeitan
  • Self-rising flour
  • Semolina
  • Tabouli
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Udon
  • Wheat
    • Einkorn
    • Emmer
    • SpeltKamut
    • Wheat starch
    • Wheat bran
    • Wheat germ
    • Cracked wheat
    • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • White flour

There are many other products that contain gluten that you will also need to avoid unless they are clearly labeled as gluten-free. Read the labels on each of these:

  • Beer and other grain-based alcohol
  • Breading
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Candies
  • Cakes/pies
  • Caramel color
  • Cereals
  • Communion wafers
  • Couscous
  • Croutons
  • Dairy substitutes
  • Dextrin
  • Dry roasted nuts
  • French fries
  • Gravy
  • Herbs
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Imitation seafood or meat
  • Lipstick, lip gloss, chapstick
  • Luncheon meats
  • Malt flavoring
  • Matzo
  • Modified food starch
  • Pasta
  • Play clay
  • Postage stamp
  • Poultry, self-basting
  • Rice with seasoning
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces
  • Seasonings
  • Snack foods with seasonings (chips)
  • Soups, bouillon, broths
  • Soy sauce
  • Supplements
  • Toothpaste
  • Vegetables in sauce
  • Vitamins
  • Wheat-free products - this does not mean gluten-free so you still need to read the list of ingredients
  • Medications - gluten containing fillers can be found in some prescription and over-the-counter medications. You can check the list of ingredients, ask the pharmacist or your doctor, and/or use the resource at the end for more information. You can even contact the manufacturer of the medication to ask.

Cross-contamination is a potential problem that needs to be monitored. Whenever products containing gluten touch a bowl, utensil, or cutting board there is a risk of it getting into the gluten-free food. Other possibilities for cross-contamination are:

  • Toaster/toaster oven - use a separate toaster
  • Crumbs being left in jams, butter, condiments - use squeeze containers
  • Storage - make a separate space in cabinets and refrigerator
  • Double dipping - make sure that no one sticks utensils or food in gluten-free foods, such as butter or hummus.
Medically Reviewed by a Doctor on 8/12/2013

Patient Comments

Viewers share their comments

Gluten Free Diet (Celiac Disease) - Symptoms Question: Describe the symptoms associated with celiac disease, or the symptoms that caused you to change to a gluten-free diet.
Gluten Free Diet (Celiac Disease) - Diagnosis Question: Describe the tests and exams you had that led to a diagnosis of celiac disease.
Gluten Free Diet (Celiac Disease) - Dietary Restrictions Question: If you omit gluten from your diet, what foods do you no longer eat, or eat in moderation?
Gluten Free Diet (Celiac Disease) - Safe Foods Question: If you are on a gluten-free diet, what foods are OK to eat? What new foods have you added to your diet?
Gluten Free Diet (Celiac Disease) - Resources Question: Please share resources, organizations, websites, or products you have found helpful in learning more about becoming gluten free.
Gluten Free Diet - Experience Question: Please describe your experience with gluten allergy (including the condition you have).
Gluten Free Diet - Foods to Avoid Question: What foods have you found to be particularly troublesome and how difficult was it to eliminate these foods from your diet?
Gluten Free Diet - Safe Foods to Eat Question: What foods have you found that do not cause gluten allergy symptoms?

STAY INFORMED

Get the Latest health and medical information delivered direct to your inbox!